The Devil and Death

Before the Devil Knows Your Dead

I somehow completely missed this movie when it was playing in theaters. But when I was browsing at the rental store this past Saturday, and read the back cover of the DVD, my reaction was to immediately think that it has to be good because it’s directed by Sidney Lumet (12 Angry Men, Serpico, Dog Day Afternoon, Running on Empty) and stars Philip Seymour Hoffman, Ethan Hawke, Marisa Tomei, and Albert Finney.

My instinct was correct. Hurray me!

Seriously, it’s excellent. It’s a modern tragedy about two brothers (Hoffman and Hawke) who decide to rob their parent’s jewelry store because they need the money and they think it will be a victimless crime because they know their parents are well insured. As you can probably guess, things do not go nearly as smoothly as they planned.

Death at a Funeral

I love English comedies and this is a great one about the outrageous hijinks that happen when a stereotypically staid English family attempts to stage a dignified funeral for the family’s patriarch.

2 responses to “The Devil and Death

  1. one of the funniest scenes ever was in death at a funeral..that uncle alfie (and the cousin who was forced to help him) stole the show…

  2. Love “Death at a Funeral”. I loved it even before I saw just because the name caught me. Ooo and also Ethan Hawke has had some good stuff. I still watch Dead Poets Society and it gets me every time. Not that anyone else cares.

Leave a comment