Trying to keep a sense of wonder

I have always been a morning person, everything is so fresh and quiet; it is generally the time when I feel God’s presence most distinctly. I realize that God is present at other times. I more closely pay attention in the morning. Over the years, I’ve welcomed each day in a variety of ways. The past few years, my favorite way is to sit on our deck early in the morning with a pot of tea or coffee, a good book, and our dogs.

Unfortunately I failed the test of being born a trust fund baby so I must work. Consequently, I don’t get to sit around on the deck enjoying life during the week. I find solace where I’m able. An inadequate replacement, but one I still enjoy, is the daily drive to work. I drive along the river and I’m always amazed at the things I see.

This morning, for instance, I saw several birds both big and small, 3 people exercising on the riverside walking trail, a border collie, and two white tail deer. I was most intrigued by the dog and the deer.

I love most dogs but border collies, with their distinctive gait and striking coats, are particularly beautiful. They are also extremely loyal and, when well trained, are amazing herders The dog I saw this morning was chasing birds on the golf course that I drive by each morning. A man was walking a few yards behind the dog. I presume he is the dog’s owner. Regardless, they were both enjoying life. The dog’s enthusiasm was infectious.

The first of the two deer crossed the road about a quarter of a mile in front of my car. Because of the distance and because it was running quickly, I wasn’t sure it was a deer. I’m not sure what I thought it might be, maybe a big dog? As I approached, though, the other one came out of a wooded area on the side of the road next to the river, crossed the road, and disappeared up the hill on the other side. Every time I see a deer disappear into the trees as the one this morning, I am utterly astounded. The camouflage they employ is so perfect that I often let my senses overpower my reason and wonder, usually only for a second, if I saw the deer at all. It is as if they are ghosts and is such a beautiful display of God’s creation that I am always awestruck.

6 responses to “Trying to keep a sense of wonder

  1. I am continually awestruck by nature. God’s unlimited imagination is mind-blowing to me … Living by the sea as been something else that mesmerizes me; I’m absolutely amazed to just sit and watch the sea. The sunsets. The storms. The peacefulness. Inspiring stuff.

  2. thanksgiving is a stronger elixir and weapon than we will ever realize. this is good stuff, sir. it begets thanksgiving. i like words that beget thankful words.

  3. Excellent stuff.
    So do you listen to music on the drive to work? Just curious. I think it would distract me from seeing all the things you mentioned, but it would be hard to choose between music and nature. I guess a good solution would be to listen to music at night since you can’t see nature as well.

  4. I want to live by the ocean some day. When I sit on a beach and look out, I always feel blessed to be a part of it all. I’ve heard some people say that it makes them feel small and discounted but I’m completely the opposite. On a daily basis, some the preemminent things that ground my faith are this rock, its orderly creation but, at the same time, the way which man has screwed it up. It makes complete sense when viewed through the lens of historical Christianity.

    I listen to music (or NPR) most always in the car except when I drive to work in the mornings. It’s not very long but it’s a good time for me to ignore all the distractions of life.

    Didn’t mean to get too serious…

  5. wonder is the opposing force of cynicism. cynicism bites the root and freezes the bone. wonder is easier and more entertaining

  6. I agree that cynicism bites the root and freezes the bone. I disagree that it is easier, though. I’m sure we’ve discussed it before but I’m glad to give it a go again if you’d like.

Leave a comment