Elevator Issues

It seems like I have an over-abundance of issues with the elevator. In general, I do not like chit chat with people I don’t know and I specifically don’t like it in the elevator when I’m riding to work in the morning. Accordingly, when I walk into the building in the morning and people are waiting with the doors open for the elevator to leave, I often walk around the corner as if I plan to take the stairs. After I hear the doors shut, I come back around and catch an empty elevator. Obviously, it’s a weird habit but it makes me more comfortable.

This morning, I walked in the doors of my building and saw an elevator full but the doors were shutting. I thought that I was safe but, just before the doors shut, one of the women recognized me and put her purse in the door so I could catch it. It was clearly a nice gesture on her part but, instead of saying thanks, I just mumbled something about intending to the catch the next one and reluctantly stepped inside.

One of the people in the elevator was holding a mystery dessert and two of the other people were commenting about how the dessert holder would need to share with others. Exactly the kind of talk I like to avoid. Everyone happened to get off on a floor a couple down from mine, it was a relief until I realized that someone else was getting on.

Of course, the new person said, “Good morning.” I mumbled something back and then immediately felt bad for not being nicer. So, much more exuberantly than my mumbled response, I said, “How are you today!” It was readily apparent that I had startled the person so I stared at the floor. Thinking that the next stop was mine, I got off and started walking to my office. When I rounded the corner, I realized that, in my hurry to get out of the elevator, I had gotten off a floor too soon. I didn’t bother trying to catch the elevator; I just walked the final flight of stairs.

3 responses to “Elevator Issues

  1. Oh my gosh, that was so funny. Sorry for laughing (out loud) at your expense. I can totally picture it happening and I felt awkward for you.

  2. you should get on the elevator alone and stand really slow to the front doors and then when the doors open you can act like it is so full that you are about to bust out; then look around at all of your fellow imaginary passengers and say to the person trying to get on “maybe you’ll have to catch the next one”

  3. jennie, glad you thought it was funny; that’s why i posted it.

Leave a comment